Frequently Asked Questions

How do I apply?

  1. On the Cache County’s website at; or

  2. In person at the Sheriff’s Office – 1225 W. Valley View, Suite 200, Logan, UT.

To apply all of the following items must be submitted before the application closing date and time:

  1. Cache County Sheriff's Office Initial Application AND Cache County Employment Application (BOTH MUST BE SUBMITTED. Applying online completes both applications.)

  2. Copies of any POST certification(s) can be uploaded during the online application process.


  4. You will need to upload a copy of your driver’s license to the online application.

What is the NPOST test?

The NPOST test is the entrance examination for the Utah Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Academy. If you are not POST certified, you are required to take and pass (at least 70% in every category) the NPOST exam. The NPOST exam can be taken at the locations listed below. Contact the testing center to schedule an appointment as their hours and costs vary. It can take 2-3 weeks to get the test results so please plan ahead.


Bridgerland Technical College

1301 N 600 W

Logan, UT 84321

(435) 750-3188

Cost: $35


Weber State University Testing Center

1112 University Circle

Ogden, UT 84408

(801) 626-6803

Davis Applied Technology Center

550 E 300 S

Kaysville, UT 84037

(801) 593-2361

Salt Lake Community College – South City Campus

1575 S State, Room 2-153

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

(801) 957-3267


Salt Lake Community College – Miller Campus

9750 S 300 W

MFEC Room #238

Sandy, UT 84070

(801) 957-5221

Uintah Basin Technical College

1100 E Lagoon St (124-5)

Roosevelt, UT 84066

(435) 722-6935

Dixie State University Testing Center

1000 E 100 S

St. George, UT 84770

(435) 652-7667

USU Eastern Blanding Campus Testing Center

639 W 100 S

Blanding, UT 84511

(435) 678-8171

USU Eastern Price Campus Testing Center

451 E 400 N

Price, UT 84501

(435) 613-5325

Southern Utah University

Specialized Testing Center

351 W University Blvd, ELC 211

Cedar City, UT 84720

(435) 865-8113



What are the eligibility requirements for employment with the Sheriff’s Office?

Sworn Positions

  • Must be at least 21 years of age

  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent

  • Must be a citizen of the United States

  • Must have a valid Utah driver’s license

  • No disqualifying criminal history

  • No DUI convictions in the last 2 years

  • Must successfully pass a background check

  • Must meet the standards to qualify to be a Peace Officer in the State of Utah

  • Preference may be given to applicants with POST certification (SFO, BCO, LEO), a 2/4 year university degree in Criminal Justice, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Political Science, or related fields, military, and/or fluent in Spanish.

What are the disqualifying factors for potential applicants to POST?

The following conditions WILL disqualify you from being accepted into any law enforcement training academy or become employed, in a sworn position, with any public safety agency with the State of Utah:

  • Non-U.S. citizen

  • Failure of the NPOST exam

  • Falsification of POST application or CCSO/Cache County application

  • Felony conviction – Exceptions: Felony convictions as a minor may be considered, but are not an automatic disqualifier

The following conditions MAY disqualify you from being accepted into any law enforcement training academy or become employed, in a sworn position, with any public safety agency within the State of Utah:

  • Conviction or involvement in misdemeanor crimes concerning drugs/controlled substances. Requires a 2-5 year waiting period from date of conviction or involvement depending on the type of drug/controlled substances involved

  • Misdemeanor crimes of dishonesty, unlawful sexual conduct, and physical violence. Requires a 4 year waiting period from date of conviction or involvement.

  • Misdemeanor conviction for DUI (1st offense) or other crime pled down from original DUI charge. Requires a 2 year waiting period from date of conviction.

  • Less than an honorable discharge from the military.

  • Convictions of minor crimes, other than traffic violations, may require a minimum 1-year wait depending upon crime and severity (wait time may be longer).

For more detail on the legal requirements and disqualifying factors please visit the Utah POST website.

Legal Requirements:

Disqualifying Factors:

What does the Sheriff’s Office deputy test consist of?

There are five tests administered on the testing date. **Testing times are approximate.**

  1. Frontline Video Test – 1 hour 25 minutes

  2. Report Writing Test – 20 minutes (timed)

  3. Reading Test – 15 minutes (timed)

  4. MPULSE Behavior/Character Inventory – 1 hour

  5. Physical Test (may be waived if you are certified or certifiable) – 30-45 minutes

A Frontline video practice test is available online at at a cost of $24.95.

Physical Test Requirements

Vertical Jump:    15 inches

Sit-Ups:        25 reps in one minute

Push-Ups:    16 reps – no time constraint, no rest during this phase of the test

1.5 Mile Run:    15:37

If I don’t pass all of the testing requirements at one time will I have to start over again from the beginning?

The physical test can be retaken within 60 days of the original testing date. If you don’t pass other portions of the test, then yes, you will have to start the entire process over again. At least 70% in each category is required to pass the Frontline Video test and the reading test.

I am certified in another state. Can I work as a law enforcement officer in Utah without going through another academy?

If you are presently working in another state as a peace officer, you may apply to take a waiver exam for peace officer certification in the State of Utah. Contact POST In-Service at (801) 256-2315 for an application packet, study material, and a date and time to take the exam. You will still have to go through and pass the Cache County Sheriff's Office testing process to be placed in the hiring pool.

What is the starting pay?

Certified Deputy – Academy graduate: $18.35.

After a probationary period (12 months for sworn deputies) employees may be eligible for a wage increase up to $18.90.

What benefits are offered?

Cache County offers health, dental, vision, and pension benefits (25 years for sworn, 35 years for civilians).

Will I be able to work for Cache County Sheriff's Office if I have tattoos or body piercings?

The Sheriff’s Office does have a grooming policy and adherence to this policy is expected. Tattoos may not be visible while an employee is in uniform. Men may not wear piercings while on duty unless approved for covert operations. Facial hair, except for a well-trimmed mustache, is prohibited. Women may only wear one pair of small hoops or posts in their ears while on duty.

How does this all work? Explain the hiring process to me from start to finish.

There are several steps in the hiring process. Participation or successful completion of any phase does not guarantee an offer of employment. You will be notified in person if a position is offered.

  1. Pass the Cache County Sheriff's Office deputy testing process and get placed in the hiring pool.

  2. When a job opening is available, applicants in the hiring pool will be contacted for an interview.

  3. Pass a comprehensive background check.

Why do you need all this private information for a background check? How in depth is this check? What if I have a juvenile record? What if I tried marijuana? Will these things disqualify me from working here?

No one is perfect – everyone has had a lapse in judgment and has made mistakes. However, when you work as a public servant, you are held to a higher standard. Members of the Cache County Sheriff's Office are held to this higher standard of behavior. Utah POST has a list of disqualifying factors for sworn officers. Along with the disqualifying factors for the POST academy, the Sheriff’s Office also has the following disqualifiers.

  • Failure to disclose information on your application or your background application

  • Crimes of dishonesty

  • DUI conviction within the last 4 years

Juvenile and expunged records are not exempt from the background investigation. Full disclosure of all criminal history incidents, whether they happened as a juvenile or have been expunged, is expected.

Is it true what they say, “It’s not what you know but who you know?”

Not really, but be proactive about getting to know the organization and the employees who work there. Please note – Cache County Corporation does have a nepotism policy in place which the Sheriff’s Office must adhere to.

Do you house males or females in the jail?

The Cache County Sheriff's Office operates the county jail which houses both males and females.

What do you mean by shift work?

The Cache County Sheriff's Office is a 24-hour, 365 day/year operation. Employees may work 8, 10, or 12-hour shifts, depending on assignment, and are required to rotate through the shifts during the year.

An example of a typical shift may be: Day Shift – 6 am to 2 pm; Swing Shift – 2 pm to 10 pm; Grave Shift – 10 pm to 6 am

In exigent circumstances and to facilitate the effective management of the office, the shifts may change from 8-hour shifts to 12-hour shifts.

Is there a difference between a jail deputy and a road deputy?

Yes. There are different certifications for each area. Jail deputies must have SFO and BCO certification. Patrol (road) deputies must have SFO and LEO certification. The Sheriff’s Office may give preference to applicants who have all three certifications.

What do these acronyms stand for?

SFO – Special Functions Officer

BCO – Basic Corrections Officer

LEO – Law Enforcement Officer

If you have any questions, please send us a message:

Name *

The Cache County Sheriff's Office

1225 W. 200 N.
Logan, Utah 84321